Pug Actually by: Matt Dunn

As someone who grew up watching Disney’s 101 Dalmatians this book is right up my alley. The premise of this book fits right in line with my favorite spotted movie. The dog sets out to find love for his owner. It was a nice change of pace to have a book written from the dog’s perspective. Doug, the dog, is quite entertaining on his quest to find his owner, Julie, love. Pug Actually is a fun change of pace read perfect for the dog days of summer.

PUG ACTUALLY

Author: Matt Dunn

ISBN: 9780778311232

Publication Date: June 29, 2021

Publisher: MIRA Books

Buy Links: 

BookShop.org

Harlequin 

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Books-A-Million

Powell’s

Social Links:

Author Website

Twitter: @MattDunnWrites

Goodreads

Author Bio:

Matt Dunn’s romantic comedy novels include The Ex-Boyfriend’s Handbook (shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award and the Melissa Nathan Award for Comedy Romance), A Day at the Office (an Amazon #1 bestseller across several categories), Thirteen Dates (shortlisted for the Romantic Comedy of the Year Award), and Kindle #1 Bestseller At The Wedding. He’s also written about life and love for The Times, Guardian, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Company, Elle, and The Sun.

Book Summary:

Doug’s human, Julie, has been adrift since she lost her mom (which is strange, because she’s usually pretty good with directions). Doug just wants Julie to be happy, and he doesn’t think she’s going to get there while she’s seeing her married boss, Luke. What’s worse, she’s saying if things don’t work out with Luke, she might end up like her lonely cat-lady neighbor. Horrified by the prospect of a sad Julie and untrustworthy feline companion, Doug decides it’s time for an intervention.

Despite his short legs and some communication roadblocks, Doug sets out on a quirky, sweet, and hilarious mission to find his rescuer the love she deserves. Though he doesn’t totally understand the strangeness of human relationships, he knows he can’t give up on Julie – after all, being a rescue dog works both ways…

“When Calls The Heart”

I have never been a huge fan of the show When Calls The Heart but I was pretty excited about the season that just ended Sunday night when I heard Viv Leacock was joining the cast. He is great in the Hailey Dean Mysteries and the Christmas Movie Maggie’s Christmas Miracle. But even him joining the show could not get to be to tune back in next season. I’m not sure what is going on but this season was horrible. I’m sure COVID had something to do with it but I would of had no season at all compared to the crap they put out this season. Guess it’s Home Town for me on Sunday nights all the time now. And to be completely honest I feel like the Hallmark Channel in general is not what it used to be.

The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak

Wow! Is the only word I can think of to describe this book. After taking nearly a month to read my last book the fact that at less than 36 hours into this book I was already about 150 pages in was huge. This was the book that if I could actually manage to stay up all night reading, I would.

“A Page Turner” is an understatement for this book. This was a keep you on the edge of your seat kind of book, waiting to see what was going to happen next. What secret would be revealed next. The characters had so much depth to them. I am glad I read this book it really brought be back to reading just at a time when I was adrift in my reading.

The Bookstore on the Beach : A Novel 

Brenda Novak

On Sale Date: April 6, 2021

9780778361053

Trade Paperback

$16.99 USD

448 pages

About the Book: For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andrews, comes New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak’s newest standalone work of women’s fiction, a big, sweeping novel about family and the ties that bind and challenge us. In this novel, three generations of women from the same family share a house and work together at a bookstore in Colonial Beach over the course of a summer.

How do you start a new chapter when you haven’t closed the book on the last one?

Eighteen months ago, Autumn Divac’s husband went missing. Her desperate search has yielded no answers—she still has no idea where he went or why. After being happily married for twenty years, she can’t imagine moving forward without him, but for the sake of their two teenage children, she has to try.

Autumn takes her kids home for the summer to the charming beachside town where she was raised. She seeks comfort by working alongside her mother and aunt at their quaint bookshop, only to learn that her daughter is facing a life change neither of them saw coming and her mother has been hiding a terrible secret for years. And when she runs into Quinn Vanderbilt—the boy who stole her heart in high school—old feelings start to bubble up again. Is she free to love him, or should she hold out hope for her husband’s return? She can only trust her heart…and hope it won’t lead her astray.

About the Author: 

Brenda Novak, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, has penned over sixty novels. She is a five-time nominee for the RITA Award and has won the National Reader’s Choice, the Bookseller’s Best, the Bookbuyer’s Best, and many other awards. She also runs Brenda Novak for the Cure, a charity to raise money for diabetes research (her youngest son has this disease). To date, she’s raised $2.5 million. For more about Brenda, please visit http://www.brendanovak.com.

SOCIAL:

TWITTER: @Brenda_Novak

FB: @BrendaNovakAuthor

Insta: @authorbrendanovak 

Goodreads

BUY LINKS:

Bookshop.org: https://bookshop.org/books/the-bookstore-on-the-beach/9780778361053

IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780778361053

Barnes & Noble: http://barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9780778361053

Books-A-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9780778361053

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=0778361055/?tag=brennova09-20

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-bookstore-on-the-beach/9780778361053-item.html

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/book/9780778361053

Walmart: https://www.walmart.com/ip/The-Bookstore-on-the-Beach-Original-ed-Paperback-9780778361053/930754084

Target: https://www.target.com/p/the-bookstore-on-the-beach-by-brenda-novak-paperback/-/A-80028510

“The Wedding War” by Liz Talley

Earlier this week I finished listening to “The Wedding War” by Liz Talley. I did not want it to end. I wanted more of Teeny and Mel’s (the two main characters) stories. I’m not sure if Liz Talley was planning for this to be a series but I would love it if there was more!

Some books are even better as an audio book (with the right narrator) and these two characters were made to be heard instead of read. They were just way to funny! I’m hoping for more!

It’s Official: We Have Created A Disney Monster

I love my kiddos with all my heart and I have loved making Disney Memories with them. I never dreamt when I told the youngest we couldn’t go to Disney until “No Dippers at Disney” (she was fighting potty training bad and kept asking to go to Disney) what we were about to create. She is the one that asks all the time when are we going back. And talks about what rides she will and will not ride next time. We have one of the blankets from Disney that has park icons on it, one day she put it over our heads and said “it’s like Disney World at night”. She will randomly show up at dinner with her Minnie ear headband on, I think we have created a Disney Monster.

My Little Disney Monster (right before COVID shut down, her last trip).

To Catch a Dream by: Audrey Carlan

I’m not going to lie when I read the description for this book I was super excited. Everything about it sounded appealing to me. And I’m sure it is as wonderful book. But I have just been in this awful funk lately and reading has not held much appeal to me. I tried to get into this book and I just couldn’t. I hate that I was not able to give it a fair chance. Hopefully once I get out of this funk I can give both books in this series the love and attention they deserve.

TO CATCH A DREAM

Author: Audrey Carlan

ISBN: 9781335180933

Publication Date: March 9, 2020

Publisher: HQN Books

BIO:

Audrey Carlan is a #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of over 40 novels, including the worldwide phenomenon Calendar Girl serial, and her books have been translated into more than 30 languages across the globe. Audrey lives in the California Valley with her two children and the love of her life.

BOOK SUMMARY: 

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the worldwide phenomenon Calendar Girl series brings readers a poignant and honest look at life’s most complicated relationships.

When their mother passed away, Evie Ross and her sister were each given a stack of letters, one to be opened every year on their birthday; letters their free-spirited mother hoped would inspire and guide them through adulthood. But although Evie has made a successful career, her desire for the stability and security she never had from her parents has meant she’s never experienced the best life has to offer. But the discovery of more letters hidden in a safe-deposit box points to secrets her mother held close, and possibly a new way for Evie to think about her family, her heart and her dreams.

SOCIAL:

Author Website: https://audreycarlan.com/

TWITTER: @AudreyCarlan 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AudreyCarlan/

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/audreycarlan/?hl=en

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7831156.Audrey_Carlan

BUY LINKS:

Harlequin 

Indiebound

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-A-Million

Walmart

Google

iBooks

Kobo

Back In Business

Last week I got a new phone and I feel like I am back in business now. My old phone was giving me so many problems I couldn’t have the app downloaded to post and I couldn’t have pictures to upload. But I am locked and loaded now so to speak.

Growing To Read Pile/List

Have you looked at some of the books coming out this year? One by one I see/read about all these books coming out this year and a lot of them sound/look so good. I’m going to be in trouble. My to read pile/list already has a backlog and I keep adding to it. I am going to have to stay focused in 2021. So I can hopefully get to a good number of the books on my list. I’m going to have to start a circle back around to list/someday I’ll get to list.

Reading Funk Over?

It took a little Bromance to get me out of my reading funk. Bromance Book Club that is. I finished the 3rd book in the series yesterday and I am super excited for the 4th coming out later this year. If you have not read any of them I highly recommend you do. They are laugh out loud funny.

Bromance Book Club Series by: Alyssa Kay Adams

1) The Bromance Book Club

2) Undercover Bromance

3) Crazy Stupid Bromance

4) Isn’t It Bromantic (Coming This Year!)

First Step

Last week I took my first step toward sailing with Mickey again. I got my first round of the COVID Vaccine. Castaway Cay I miss you and I hope to be back as soon as I can.